Peanut Butter Cup Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut Butter Cup Chocolate Chip Cookies…so soft and chocolatey that they melt in your mouth.
Last week my husband asked me to make a batch of chocolate chip cookies. At the point of adding the chocolate chips to my batter, I realized I only had half a bag left. So I rooted through my cupboards until I found a couple of packages of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups… I chopped these up and substituted them for the missing choc chips. These were delicious by the way, even my picky daughter ate them, although she asked if I would omit the chocolate chips next time and just add more peanut butter cups.
Peanut Butter Cup Cookies
Ingredients:
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 /2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup margarine, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 small eggs
  • 2 cups +  2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 8 peanut butter cups, chopped (I used regular sized, not the mini’s. It was almost 1 cup after chopped)
  • 3/4 semi sweet chocolate chips, or more if you prefer.

 

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 375°F. Line a couple of baking sheet with parchment paper.
    If you want soft cookies I suggest using baking sheets without edges so you can slide the whole sheet of parchment paper off when removing them from the oven. This allows cookies to stop baking immediately after removing them from the hot cookie sheet. They may not seem fully baked at 8 minutes but after these cookies cool they firm up and remain soft.
  2. In a large mixing bowl beat all 3 sugars and margarine until light and fluffy.
  3. Add the vanilla and eggs, mix until well blended.
  4. Mix in flour, baking soda and salt.
  5. Stir in chopped peanut butter cups and chocolate chips.
  6. Use a small cookie scoop (1 5/8″) and place dough 2 inches apart on parchment covered baking sheet.
  7. Bake 8 to 9 minutes or until light golden brown.
  8. Immediately after removing them from the oven slide the entire sheet of parchment paper onto the counter. Leave cookies on the paper until cooled.

Store in a sealed container.  This batch made exactly 41 cookies using my small cookie scoop.

Enjoy,

Crystal

Leave a Reply

