Apple Shaped Apple Pies


I purchased some Pocket Pie Molds from William & Sonoma a couple of years ago, and I just now got around to using them… They are so adorable, I bought the pumpkin, apple and lattice shaped ones.

I cheated a lot with these by buying pre-made apple pie filling and Pillsbury pie dough because I was so eager to use the molds this weekend, I didn’t want to waste time making the ingredients.

Ingredients:

  • Pillsbury Pie Crusts (this pack came with 2 layers for a deep pie)
  • 1 Can of Apple Pie Filling. (I used E.D. Smith brand)
  • Egg Wash  (1 egg + 2 tbsp milk whisked together)
  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar (for sprinkling over the crusts)
  • parchment paper to line baking sheet

Instructions:

  1. Start by letting the pie crust thaw out – if frozen. Unroll them and place on lightly floured counter. Cut out 4 of each side, using the backs of the pie mold.
  2. Place the back piece of the pie dough into the mold.
  3. Scoop some apple pie filling into the middle.
  4. Prepare some egg wash and brush it along the edges of the pie dough.
  5. Apply the top decorative layer of dough, gently stretching it so it fits perfectly on the bottom layer.
  6. Attach the top piece of the plastic pie mold and press down on the pie to crimp the edges together.
  7. Remove the top piece of the plastic mold and set aside.
  8. Brush egg wash on top of the pie. Sprinkle with sugar.
  9. Gently remove the pie from the plastic mold and place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and bake for 18-20 minutes. Be sure to rotate the cookie sheet halfway through baking so the edges don’t burn.

Store in sealed container. Makes 4 mini pies.
You could probably get 1 more out of the excess pie dough, but I didn’t bother.

Enjoy!

Crystal

One Comment to “Apple Shaped Apple Pies”

  1. I love this post! I read your blog fairly often and you are
    always coming out with some great stuff, I shared this on my facebook and my followers
    love it, keep up the good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

