Rollkuchen

Rolkuchen was one of my favourite treats as a kid and I only had it once a year – Christmas time at my Grandparents. Back then, I had no idea what they were called but my grandma sent us home with ziplock bags full of them, and they never lasted long with my brother and I around. Just last year, I started researching what exactly they were and finally after typing so many different names into google, I came up with Rollkuchen – a Mennonite Fritter.

Here’s my revised recipe from trying out a few different ones and liking this version the best.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup milk,  I always use skim but you can use whatever kind you want
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Canola or Vegetable Oil – for frying them
  • and I suggest using a deep-frying thermometer as well.

Instructions:

  1. Start by combining the milk, sour cream and eggs and sugar together in a mixing bowl.
  2. Add the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt to the wet ingredients and mix until a soft dough has formed. You may need to add a little extra flour if the dough is sticking to the bowl.
  3. Form 2 balls with the dough, wrap one in plastic wrap and place it in the refrigerator while you use the other.
  4. Roll out the dough onto a floured surface until it’s about 1/4 inch thick.
  5. Cut the dough into pieces about 3 x 3 or 2 x 3 inches. I like to make them in all different shapes, but generally the size of a business card works well. I like to place them on a tray and put them in the fridge, then grab a half dozen at a time. Remember, when you fry them, they puff up and get bigger, so don’t cut the pieces too large.
  6. Heat up the oil in a pot on the stove until it reaches approx 375 degrees. (Don’t go any higher or they’ll cook too fast and the inside will be raw).
  7. At this temperature, if the dough pieces are the cut the size I suggested, it takes about 1 minute per side to cook them until light golden brown.
  8. Place a couple dough pieces in the hot oil at a time, turn them over with tongs when each side browns.
  9. Use tongs or a slotted spoon to remove each piece and place them on paper towel to drain excess oil, and to cool.
  10. When finished one batch, remove the other dough ball from the fridge and repeat.
  11. After you’ve fried the whole batch, let them cool completely and store in sealed containers or ziplock bags.
  12. I throw out the leftover oil in the pot, because it is full of crumbs at the bottom and I don’t can’t see re-using it.

This recipe easily makes 4 dozen pieces.

Enjoy,

Crystal

Leave a Reply

