Princess Birthday Party

For our daughter’s 6th birthday, we held her party at a local gymnastics center. 1 hour of instructed gymnastics on all of the fun equipment, and 1 hour of cake, treats, and present opening.  Despite the hot day and lack of air conditioning, the kids seemed to have a great time!

As our daughter gets older, I’m afraid we might not have very many years left of girly girl themed parties, so this year I was excited when she decided on a princess theme. Since it was a unisex party, I used both blue and pink for her party colours.

I baked the mini Princess cake using this Wilton Mini Wonder Mold. When the cake cooled, I inserted this Princess Cake Topper and whipped up a batch of blue buttercream frosting. After piping the dress bottom on, I sprinkled blue disco dust all over the dress!

If you’re wondering why I made both a cake and cupcakes…I was a little sketchy about transporting the castle cake to the party because there’s so many speed bumps in the parking lot and I didn’t want the pillars to fall over. So I made 4 dozen cupcakes (half choc/half vanilla) with vanilla buttercream frosting for the kids party, and the castle cake was for our after-party with family at our house. My favourite part was the edible sparkles (disco dust). You can use a small paintbrush to dust the sparkles on top of the cupcakes after you’ve frosted them.

I hand-made 4 dozen cupcake skirts shaped like crowns in 4 different shades of 8 x 12″ scrapbook paper. Here’s a template for the skirts if you would like to try making them too.

I had a little “oops” with the castle cake…when I was mixing the fondant, I accidentally scooped purple food colouring instead of blue into the fondant and once I started kneading it, it was too late to salvage and add blue…therefore I had to use purple flowers for this cake. My daughter still loved it though!

We bought some pink elephant popcorn and then made our own buttered popcorn and filled these cute individual cardboard containers. I found some sparkly crowns and castle stickers at a local craft store and applied those to add a little more glitter. I stored them in a wooden serving tray and accessorized with some pink feather boa’s.

One thing I learned from this years party was that, once again I over thought everything and the party went by so fast I didn’t get much of a chance to enjoy it! Despite that, my husband took some really good photo’s of the kids and my daughter said she had the best birthday ever!

p.s. Here’s the invitations I designed, printed, cut-out and glittered. SO fun!

Happy Summer!

Crystal

14 Comments to “Princess Birthday Party”

  1. LOVE LOVE LOVE. What a beautiful princess party! The Well descriptive article. Much useful information. And of course the birthday girl is just too adorable. OMG, Beautiful pictures as well.. Thanks for sharing with us. keep it up. 🙂

  2. What a beautiful princess party! The details are exquisite. And of course the birthday girl is just too adorable. I love it. omg these pictures are so beautiful too. Thanks for sharing with us. 🙂 if you add more entertainment in your party, please visit on this http://www.corriej.ca/Edmonton

  3. What a beautiful princess party! The details are exquisite. And of course the birthday girl is just too adorable. I love it. omg these pictures are so beautiful too. I have a great idea to become your this birthday more memorable. If you are interesred thev please visit this site http://www.corriej.ca/Edmonton

  4. Sweet cake. Disco dust is plastic craft glitter and not to be used on food. To keep something edible, the glitter needs to be edible, too–made from gum arabic, sanding sugar, or gelatin.

  5. ceiling, I like to attach a quick handle to my roller rather than utilising the more widespread 48-in.

  6. Hello everyone, it’s my first pay a quicfk visit at this web site, and paragraph is genuinely fruitful inn support of me, keep up posting these types
    of posts.

  7. Wonderful, what a website it is! This weblog presents useful facts to us, keep it up.

  8. Where did you find the white pillars that are the towers of the castle? Are they made of plastic?

  9. Hi there
    I’m doing a cinderella cake where the cake is the dress…I need the cake topper of the top half of cinderella and I was wondering where to get it from!?
    Thanks
    Michelle

  10. I would like the invitation dress too, if possible??? I work with PS 🙂

  11. I would love the corel file of the invitations if you wouldn’t mind!

  12. LOVE THIS!! I was wondering where in the world did you find the cinderella cake topper, I am wanting to make mini cakes for my daughter and her friends for her 5th birthday party in January and I have searched google for what seems like forever. Also, those invitations are the BEST, where did you find them

    • Hi Mandie,
      (If you mean the cinderella standing in front of the castle). I bought the cinderella cupcake topper from a local store called Scoop N Save, but you can also order them from Amazon and Ebay. If you mean the tiny Cinderella on top of the cupcake tower, I bought that from Toys R Us.
      I came across similiar invitations while browsing online for ideas but I made them myself with Corel Draw because I wasn’t interested in paying 4$ per invite, and I wanted to use my own colours and fonts, sparkles, etc… If you have this design program I would be happy to email them to you, and then you could customize them to your liking.
      Thanks for youe comment. 🙂
      Crystal

Leave a Reply

