Mom’s 50!

Here’s a silly cake I made for my mom last week for her 50th birthday. I love the character Maxine from those super sarcastic Shoebox greeting cards. Have a look at a few of her remarks I’ve borrowed for this cake…it made my Mom laugh, that’s what matters. 🙂

So I went with the safety of peanut butter and chocolate for this one, assuming most people would like that flavour. The cake was 2 layers of chocolate, with peanut butter filling and smooth vanilla buttercream frosting. Oh, and I can’t forget the 16 peanut butter cups and the dollops of peanut butter frosting on top. I didn’t try a slice of this cake – I opted for a hostess style cupcake instead, but it did look tasty.

For the Maxine photo’s, I didn’t have a printer to make edible images…so I rolled out some fondant, cut out squares and then used food colouring gel, water and a fine paint brush to draw these pictures. (I’m not an artist, so that will explain why they’re messy, but I think everyone got the idea.)

Happy Birthday Mom!

Love Crystal

 

Leave a Reply

