Peanut Butter Eggs

The peanut butter egg idea popped into my head when I was wandering around a craft store and came across an adorable mini blue egg carton.  Originally, I was going to make oval petit-fours, but I figured an actual egg shape would definitely be easier to form if using peanut butter balls.  As for the bunny and the carrot, I had a carton of strawberries in my fridge so I dipped those in white and orange chocolate melts as well. For the bunny ears I used a chocolate mould that I had left over from an Easter Candy Kit I used with my daughter.

Looking back, I suppose I could have decorated the eggs with a colourful Easter theme because they look really plain to me right now. Oh well…they were still tasty!

Peanut Butter Balls – (half batch)

Ingredients: 

  • 3/4 cups peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 2 cups icing sugar, sifted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

For Dipping:

Directions:

  1. Combine all 4 ingredients until smooth, with an electric mixer.
  2. Use a small cookie scoop to evenly portion the dough. Use your hands to roll smooth balls and then form them into egg shapes.
  3. Place the balls on a lined baking sheet and refrigerate for an hour.
  4. Melt the chocolate in the microwave in a deep cup.
  5. Take just a few balls out of the fridge at a time. Place them gently onto treat sticks and dip them in the white chocolate until coated.
  6. Gently tap off the excess chocolate and place them into a styrofoam block to dry.
  7. When the chocolate is firm, gently remove the sticks and place them into the tiny cutesy egg carton.
  8. I dipped a few strawberries in chocolate to make the bunny and carrot. For the bunny, I dipped the leaf part into the chocolate too so it looked like a bushy tail. I drew the face on with edible markers and placed a large pink heart sprinkle for the nose.
  9. For the ears, I used a plastic chocolate mould. Then I affixed them to the bunny while it was still wet.

Enjoy!

Crystal

One Comment to “Peanut Butter Eggs”

  1. Veryy nicee article, just what I wass lookimg for.

Leave a Reply

