Easy Chocolate Caramel Pretzels

Last Fall, I purchased a Chocolate Covered Pretzel at one of our local pumpkin patches. It was the best one I have ever tasted. These ones aren’t as good, because I didn’t make the caramel from scratch, but they are tasty, easy to make and definately satisfied my sweet tooth!

I didn’t want to fuss around with making caramel, so I purchased some caramel candies from the grocery store.

Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of pretzels rods
  • 1 bag of wrapped caramel candies (2 candies per pretzel)
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chunks
  • 1 tbsp vegetable shortening
  • 1/2 cup white melting chocolate & piping bag (optional)

Directions:

  1. Remove the caramels from the wrappers and microwave 2-4 caramels at a time in a small dish for 10 seconds. (Don’t melt them –just soften them up a bit.)
  2. Roll the caramels out into 4 inch lenghts and attach 2 lengths together.
  3. Twirl the caramels around the pretzels. If they’re not sticking, you can put a tiny drop of water on each end of the caramel and gently affix it to the pretzel end.
  4. Leave about 2 inches  plain at one end of the pretzel so you can hold onto it to dip it in the chocolate.
  5. Melt the chocolate chips in the microwave. Add 1 tbsp of vegetable shortnening to help thin down the chocolate and make it easier to dip the pretzels.  (I didn’t have a deep dish, so I just used a bowl and scooped chocolate onto the pretzels using a spatula.)
  6. Gently tap off the excess chocolate and place them on wax parchment paper to dry. Place in the refrigerator to help them firm up.
  7. Optional – Drizzle with white chocolate for extra tasty goodness!  I just placed 1/2 cup white chocolate chunks into a plastic piping bag and microwaved it until the chocolate melted and was a nice consistency to drizzle over the pretzels.

This is a big bag of pretzels. I only used 9 pretzel rods, plus I broke a few in the process…but that’s okay because if sealed well the remainder will last a while and I can make another batch sometime soon! These pretzels melt in your mouth!  When my husband went to work tonight, I sent a small batch with him to bring to the Firehall.

Enjoy!

Crystal

One Comment to “Easy Chocolate Caramel Pretzels”

  1. OMG! I am 11 yrs old and I still DON’T have any food on my website. Thanks for showing any one that comes to your site the sweets you make . I could really use somes pointers.

Leave a Reply

