White Sandwich Bread

Plain. Easy. White. Bread.

That’s right….EASY bread.  If you have a bread machine, it most likely came with a book full of basic bread recipes. Although I was very dissappointed with my book, I did find one recipe that seemed pretty easy because it only had 6 ingredients. After modifying a few things, lessoning the amount of sugar and yeast, I made this loaf of bread – and boy is it good!

I now use this as my basic recipe and if I want to flavour it with rosemary, or garlic, or cheese bread, this is the one I refer to, then I add all the other ingredients after the 1st rise.

Recipe Yields: 1 1/2 pound loaf.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup warm water (110 degrees F)
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 3 cups flour (all-purpose flour OR bread flour both work fine)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 3 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 package of dry yeast (8 gr) – approx 2 1/4 tsp  
  •  Directions:

    1.  Use a thermometer to make sure the water is 110 degrees F.  (Don’t use hot or cold water or the yeast will not work properly.)

    2.  Place ingredients into the bread maker in the following order:  water, oil,  flour, salt, sugar, and yeast.

    3.  Bake on the White Bread setting, 1 1/2 pound loaf, and choose the colour of bread to whatever you desire.

    4 Comments to “White Sandwich Bread”

    1. Thanks for finally writing about >White Sandwich Bread | Baking Made Simple <Loved it!

    2. Wow that was odd. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

    3. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back down the road. Many thanks

    4. Thanks for that awesome posting. It saved me so much time 🙂

    Leave a Reply

